The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I was clicking through The Vancouver Sun’s website to try and find a suitable article to remix for my project, and I came across many interesting ones. The ones that really caught my eye, though, were the articles written about the holiday season. The majority of them were talking about gifts and how to throw the craziest party. By craziest, I mean fun. While reading these articles, I got a Charlie Brown moment. I though to myself: What is the true meaning of the holiday season? I’ve listened to Linus explain the meaning of Christmas every December since I can remember, and it seems as if many of us have lost the grasp of what Christmas is all about.
The article that I thought was really interesting talked about how many individuals fall deeper into debt because of the holiday season. This isn’t how the holidays should be! For my remix project, I put the article through Wordle: an online application that takes the words in a piece of writing and shows which words are used more in comparison to other words in the piece. I, then, used the output to create an image that represents how the holidays have become very different from the Charlie Brown Christmas Special that we watch every single year. Click the image below to get a better look.

Links:

Linus’s explanation of the meaning of Christmas – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn10FF-FQfs

Article – http://www.vancouversun.com/life/holiday-guide/stick+holiday+budget/3831543/story.html

Wordle – http://www.wordle.net/

5 comments on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

  1. Clever tree idea I like how it is very subtle with the wording, almost like it’s hiding behind the guise of Christmas celebrations.

  2. The commodification of life is fascinating.

    How Christmas, defined in The Catholic Encyclopedia 1913 as a holiday held on December 25 to commemorate the birth of Jesus, has become all about money and how to throw the craziest party is a place to venture into some critical thinking and questioning of capitalist marketing.

  3. I love the simplicity of your image as well as its message. Very effective 🙂

  4. I would have to say, that is the most honest christmas tree I have ever seen.

  5. this is great! because christmas is so commercialized, but i still LOVE giving gifts to the ones i love i’ve taken to hand making a much as i can, including the wrapping paper! good remix


Leave a Reply

